Episode 117 of PowerScripting Podcast.

Friday, middle of the night. Got to work, got fresh cofee, write down my questions I was thinking about for about month. And then it all started. Yes, I’ve enjoyed it. Every single minute of it. 🙂 Maybe didn’t asked everything I wanted to, but that was not the point. I had a chance to speak to Jeffrey, Ed, Hal and Jonathan. It was surely grand prize for me. If I would get TechEd pass I would not use it – price of the trip to US, hotel, week off… I would be sad and sorry. But 1 hour call to US is totally different story.

I hope Polish listeners of the Podcast won’t hunt me for calling us (Polish PowerShell users) mutants. 😉 Forgive me, it was not exactly what I was going to say… 😀 And for those who listened to the podcast and have no idea who this Witcher is, two links:

English version of book on Amazon.com

The Witcher (game) official website

Back to the podcast: I’m glad that I mentioned few things: challenges (I guess Scripting Wife is somewhat right that answering peoples questions on forum is something like that, but I would prefer some spirit of competition that such forum answers should not bring). Naming – I’m not all that sure that scripts should use verb-noun, but I somehow like the idea, and I think that Jeffrey was closer to the point in that area. BTW: there is a way to suppress warning about names when you load a module:

PowerShell, using GeSHi 1.0.8.8
  1. PS C:UsersBartekB> ImportModule .Test.psm1
  2. WARNING: Some imported command names include unapproved verbs which might make them less discoverable.  Use the
  3. Verbose parameter for more detail or type GetVerb to see the list of approved verbs.
  4. PS C:UsersBartekB> ImportModule .Test.psm1 DisableNameChecking
  5. PS C:UsersBartekB>

But you can not be sure that everybody will use that parameter, so you better watch out and name your functions with the –verbs you get-

And that leads me to last thought I would like to share: it would actually help to add one more property to get-verb results: alias prefix. I’m almost sure that those are common, and all imports aliases are ip(noun-part), exports are ep(noun-part) and gets are g(noun-part), and so long, and so forth.

And last but not least: hearing Jeffrey’s passion about the product is almost like listening to the parent, so without any doubt you can call Powershell “his baby”. It was a real fun to listen to it live, to interact with it in a way I had never chance before (and probably will not have in future). Definitely a day to remember. Now I wait for final version of this episode so that I can download it and save it somewhere for my descendants… 😉

Leave a Reply

